CEMSS win TDC Inter-School Championships for 21st time


By: Loshaun Dixon,

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts – ONE week after the Sandy Point Primary School emerged victors of the RAM’S Primary School Championships, their colleagues from the Charles E. Mills Secondary School (CEMSS) were once again crowned TDC Inter-School Champions to secure a Sandy Point sweep at both scholastic meets.

The three-day Championships, which ended yesterday (Mar. 30) at the Silver Jubilee Stadium, saw CEMSS Eagles flying away with the title for the 21st time with a whopping 26-gold medal haul and beating defending champions Washington Archibald into second place with 14.
Starting the day with a nine-gold medal lead, CEMSS never looked like surrendering that position despite slight challenges from Washington Archibald and Charlestown Secondary.
CARIFTA-bound athlete Krystal Liburd of CEMSS was named Victrix Ludorum for the second straight year after accumulating 48 points by winning the Under-18 Girls Long Jump, High Jump, 200m, 100m and was a member of the winning 4x400m and 4x100m Relays.
Nathanial Huggins, another CARIFTA-bound athlete also of CEMSS, was declared Victor Ludorum after he won the Under-17 Boys Long Jump, placed second in the Javelin Throw and High Jump and was clipped on the line in the 110m Hurdles and the 100m Dash.
The day also featured some top performances from Tahir Jeferson of the Clarence Fitzroy Bryant College (CFBC) who impressed the spectators by clearing 2.04 metres in the Boys Under-20 High Jump.
The moment of the day however came in the Under-18 Male 100m in an exciting race that saw a battle between Sadiki Tyson of Gingerland Secondary and Wayne Mathew of Cayon High.
Following a lightning start from Tyson, Mathew fought back to take the race in a close encounter which had to be decided by photo finish. Mathew was declared the winner in a time of 10.99 seconds.
A similar situation occurred in the Under-20 Male 100m when it seemed that Huggins of CEMSS was on the verge of winning the race but was denied victory on the line by Alkronous Bridgewater of CFBC.
Nine schools participated in the Championships with Clarence Fitzroy Bryant College taking third spot, Charlestown Secondary fourth, Verchild’s High fifth and Basseterre High sixth.
Patrons and athletes of the various participating schools were treated to a classical display of speed when some of the nation’s top senior athletes competed for superiority in a 100M exhibition race.
That race had brought many spectators to their feet as the battle for first place was obviously being fought between Delwayne Delaney and Alistair Clarke. The latter national athlete was the victor.
Individual Category Champions are as follows:
U-14 -Male Champion – Geval Wallacee (CSS)
U-14 Female Champion – Olujede Bridgewater(BHS)
U-16 -Male Champion – Cejae Farrell (CSS)
U-16 Female Champion – Namibia Clavier (WAHS)
U-18-Male Champion – Darille Warner (VHS)
U-18 Female Champion – Kristal Liburd (CEMSS)
U-20 -Male Champion – Nathaniel Huggins (CEMSS)
U-20 Femal Champion – Denecia Maynard (WAHS)
School Gold    Silver Bronze
CEMSS              26        31            8 
WAHS               14        19           17 
CFBC                 14         3             9 
CSS                  12        13             7 
VHS                  12        11           14 
BHS                  10        12           21 
GSS                   5          2             8 
SSS                   3          1             5 
CHS                   1          5             7